Jackery vs EcoFlow: Which Brand Wins at Each Size, and Who Should Buy Which
THE HONEST REVIEWERS
Expert Verified & Tested
Brand Comparison Field Tested

Jackery vs EcoFlow

Both sell LiFePO4 power stations from 1 kWh to whole-home systems. EcoFlow usually wins on output, charging speed and solar input. Jackery usually wins on weight and simplicity. Here is how the current models line up, size by size.

Alex Rivers

Alex Rivers

Home Improvement Editor

If you want the most output, the fastest wall charging and the most solar input for the money, EcoFlow wins at almost every size. If you want the lightest box at a given capacity and the simplest thing to live with, Jackery is the better buy. Both now use LiFePO4 cells across their main lineups, so the old chemistry argument is over; what separates them is output, charging, expansion and how the warranty is structured.

1. The Short Verdict

Jackery and EcoFlow are the two names most people shortlist, and at a glance their catalogues look interchangeable: a 1 kWh box, a 2 kWh box, an expandable home-backup unit and a large 120/240V system. Line the current models up spec for spec, though, and a consistent pattern appears. EcoFlow puts more inverter, more charging power and more solar input into each size class. Jackery builds lighter units and keeps the interface simpler.

At 1 kWh, the EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus gives you 1800W of continuous AC output against 1500W on the Jackery Explorer 1000 v2, takes 1000W of solar against 400W, and expands to 5 kWh where the Explorer does not expand at all. The Explorer, in turn, is nearly four pounds lighter and slightly bigger in capacity. At 2 kWh and at the whole-home end, the same pattern repeats with one notable exception: Jackery's Explorer 5000 Plus out-muscles EcoFlow's DELTA Pro 3 on output and solar, at the cost of more than 20 extra pounds.

That is why our best portable power station guide names an EcoFlow as the best overall pick and a Jackery as the best value and first-time buy. The EcoFlow DELTA 2 that leads that guide has now been succeeded on EcoFlow's US store by the DELTA 3 family, which carries the same 1024 Wh capacity with a faster charger and a longer cycle rating, so everything that made the DELTA 2 our top pick applies to its successor.

At 1 kWh, Side by Side

1800W

DELTA 3 Plus AC output

1500W

Explorer 1000 v2 AC output

23.8 lb

Explorer 1000 v2 weight

27.6 lb

DELTA 3 Plus weight

The rest of this page goes size by size using the makers' own published specifications, then through the categories that matter after purchase: cycle ratings, wall and solar charging, UPS switchover, app and noise, and warranty. If you have not yet worked out how much capacity you need, do that first with our guide to what size portable power station you need, because picking the right size matters more than picking the right brand.

2. 1 kWh: Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 vs EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus

This is the size most people buy: enough to keep a fridge, a router and some lights going through an evening outage, or to run a campsite for a weekend. Jackery's entry is the Explorer 1000 v2. EcoFlow's is the DELTA 3 family, of which the DELTA 3 Plus is the version to compare, since it adds a second solar input and a faster 140W USB-C port over the plain DELTA 3 for a modest premium.

Spec (maker's figures) Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus
Capacity 1070 Wh 1024 Wh
Chemistry and cycles LiFePO4, 4,000 cycles to 70% LiFePO4, 4,000 cycles to 80%
AC output 1500W, 3000W surge, 3 outlets 1800W, 3600W surge, 6 outlets
X-Boost style mode None Up to 2200W resistive loads
Wall charging 1.58 hrs standard, about 1 hr in app emergency mode 1500W input, full in 56 min
Solar input 400W max, 2 ports, 12-60V 1000W max, 2 x 500W, 11-60V
Expandable No Yes, up to 5 kWh
UPS switchover Under 20 ms Under 10 ms
Weight 23.8 lb 27.6 lb
Warranty 3 + 2 years 5 years

On paper the DELTA 3 Plus wins most rows. Its 1800W inverter runs a 1500W space heater or a full-size microwave with headroom to spare, where the Explorer's 1500W limit makes those borderline. Its six AC outlets against three matter more than they sound during an outage, when you are otherwise daisy-chaining a power strip. And its 1000W solar ceiling means two or three mid-size panels can refill it in an afternoon, where the Explorer tops out at two 200W panels.

The Explorer's advantages are real but narrower. It is 3.8 pounds lighter, which you notice carrying it to a campsite or up from a basement. It holds 46 Wh more energy. And its spec sheet is simpler: three outlets, one charging mode switch in the app, nothing to configure. For someone buying their first power station mainly for camping and the occasional outage, that simplicity has value, and it is why the Explorer 1000 v2 is the value pick in our roundup.

If you think you might want more capacity later, Jackery's answer at this size is the newer HomePower 1000 Plus v2, a 1024 Wh unit with 1800W of output, 3600W peak, a sub-10 ms UPS switchover and expansion to 11 kWh using 2 kWh battery packs. That makes it a direct rival to the DELTA 3 Plus on paper, and the choice between them comes down to price on the day and whose battery ecosystem you would rather buy into.

Our verdict at this size: the DELTA 3 Plus is the more capable machine and the better choice for home backup. The Explorer 1000 v2 is the better choice if weight and simplicity top your list and you are confident 1 kWh and 1500W are all you will ever need.

3. 2 kWh: Explorer 2000 v2 and HomePower 2000 Plus v2 vs DELTA 3 Max

At 2 kWh both brands split their lineup in two: a fixed-capacity unit and an expandable one. Jackery's fixed unit is the Explorer 2000 v2; its expandable model is the HomePower 2000 Plus v2, which replaces the Explorer 2000 Plus that many older comparisons still reference. EcoFlow's equivalents are the DELTA 3 Max and the expandable DELTA 3 Max Plus, with the older DELTA 2 Max still on sale alongside them.

Fixed capacity: Explorer 2000 v2 vs DELTA 3 Max

Spec Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max
Capacity 2042 Wh 2048 Wh
AC output 2200W, 4400W surge, 3 outlets 2400W, X-Boost to 3400W, 4 outlets
Wall charging 1.75 hrs standard, 1.3 hrs emergency 1800W input, 0-80% in 68 min
Solar input 400W max 500W max
Cycles 4,000 to 70% Maker quotes about 10 years of use
UPS switchover Not stated on spec sheet Under 10 ms
Weight 39.5 lb 44.8 lb
Warranty 3 + 2 years 5 years with app registration

This is the closest pairing in either lineup. The Jackery is about five pounds lighter and the EcoFlow has a bit more output, one more outlet and slightly more solar headroom. Neither is sold as expandable. If you want a 2 kWh unit that you will carry between a house and a cabin or an RV, the Explorer 2000 v2's weight advantage is a reasonable tiebreaker. If it will sit in a utility room as backup, the DELTA 3 Max's output and quicker UPS switchover are worth more.

Expandable: HomePower 2000 Plus v2 vs DELTA 3 Max Plus

Spec Jackery HomePower 2000 Plus v2 EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus
Capacity 2048 Wh, expands to 12 kWh 2048 Wh, expands to 10 kWh
AC output 2400W, 4800W surge, 120V 3000W, 6000W surge, X-Boost 3800W, 120V
Wall charging 1.5 hrs in emergency mode 1800W input, 0-80% in 64 min
Solar input 800W 1000W
Cycles 6,000+ Maker quotes about 10 years of use
UPS switchover Not stated on product page Under 10 ms
Weight About 41 lb 48.7 lb
Warranty 3 + 2 years 5 years with app registration

Here the EcoFlow's 3000W inverter is the headline. That is enough to start most well pumps, run a window air conditioner and a fridge together, or run a full-size microwave with other loads on, where 2400W gets tight. The Jackery counters with a battery rated for 6,000-plus cycles and a weight Jackery says is 34 percent lower than the 61.5-pound Explorer 2000 Plus it replaces, which makes it genuinely movable by one person. Its Priority Routing feature, which sheds non-essential outlets at a battery threshold you set, is a thoughtful touch for outages.

The older DELTA 2 Max is worth a look if you find it discounted: 2400W, 1000W of solar input, 3,000 cycles to 80 percent and expansion with up to two extra batteries, at 50 pounds. It is heavier and has a lower cycle rating than either newer unit, but the core specification is still competitive.

4. Whole Home: Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus vs EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3

At the top end both brands sell 120/240V systems meant to power well pumps, central air handlers and sub-panels through a transfer switch. This is the one size class where Jackery out-specs EcoFlow on raw output, and the trade-off is weight.

Spec (maker's figures) Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3
Capacity 5040 Wh 4096 Wh
Voltage 120/240V 120/240V
AC output 7200W, 14,400W surge 4000W, 8000W surge, X-Boost 6000W
Expansion Up to 60 kWh in a full system 12 kWh per unit, 48 kWh in a full system
Solar input Up to 4000W: high-PV 135-450V plus 1200W low-PV 2600W: 1600W high-PV plus 1000W low-PV
Wall charging 3.5 hrs on 120V 0-80% in 50 min
Cycles 4,000 to 70% 4,000 to 80%
UPS switchover Under 20 ms backup, 0 ms online 10 ms
Weight About 134.5 lb 113.5 lb
Warranty 5 years 5 years

The Explorer 5000 Plus is the bigger machine: 23 percent more capacity, 7200W of continuous output and high-voltage solar input that Jackery says fully recharges it in 1.7 hours with enough panels. That much output runs a 240V well pump and central air handler together in a way the DELTA Pro 3's 4000W cannot. Jackery also lists an online UPS mode with zero switchover, which suits anything that cannot tolerate even a brief interruption.

The DELTA Pro 3 is the more practical unit to live with. It is 21 pounds lighter, charges to 80 percent from the wall in 50 minutes against three and a half hours for the Jackery, and EcoFlow's Smart Home Panel 2 and Smart Generator integrations are more mature. If your home backup plan leans on a wall outlet or a generator to recharge between outages, that charging speed matters more than the extra kilowatt-hour.

At this level the system matters more than the box. Budget for a transfer switch or smart panel installed by an electrician; our guide to transfer switch types and installation explains what each option involves. And compare full kits, including panels, because both brands sell these units mostly as bundles, which is where a lot of the real price difference sits.

5. Battery Chemistry, Cycle Ratings and Warranty

Every current Jackery and EcoFlow model in this comparison uses LiFePO4, lithium iron phosphate, cells. That is a meaningful change from a few years ago, when Jackery's original Explorer line used NMC lithium-ion rated for roughly 500 cycles. LiFePO4 trades a little energy density for far longer cycle life and better thermal stability, and our explainer on LiFePO4 vs lithium-ion power stations covers why that trade is worth making for anything you plan to keep.

The cycle numbers themselves need reading carefully, because the two brands rate to different end points. Jackery typically quotes cycles to 70 percent of original capacity: 4,000 cycles to 70 percent on the Explorer 1000 v2, 2000 v2 and 5000 Plus. EcoFlow quotes cycles to 80 percent: 4,000 cycles to 80 percent on the DELTA 3, DELTA 3 Plus and DELTA Pro 3. Reaching 80 percent is a stricter standard than reaching 70 percent, so a 4,000-cycle EcoFlow rating is, on its face, the stronger claim of the two.

Jackery's newer HomePower v2 line moves the goalposts the other way, with 6,000-plus cycles quoted for the HomePower 2000 Plus v2. In practice, all of these ratings are far beyond what most owners use. Even daily full cycling, which almost no backup or camping owner does, would take more than ten years to reach 4,000 cycles. For a typical owner the battery will outlast the electronics around it, and the cycle figure is a tiebreaker, not a deciding factor.

Warranty is where the fine print matters more. Jackery lists most current models as 3 plus 2 years, meaning a three-year standard warranty with two extra years when you buy from Jackery directly or an authorised seller. EcoFlow lists five years on its current DELTA models, which on several product pages is described as a three-year standard warranty plus two years on registration in the EcoFlow app. Either way, register the unit the day it arrives and keep the receipt, because the extended years are not automatic.

6. Wall Charging Speed and Solar Input

Charging speed is EcoFlow's strongest category. Its X-Stream charging pulls 1500W from a wall outlet on the DELTA 3 Plus, refilling it in 56 minutes, and 1800W on the 2 kWh DELTA 3 Max models, reaching 80 percent in 64 to 68 minutes. Jackery's standard charging is slower, 1.58 hours on the Explorer 1000 v2 and 1.75 hours on the Explorer 2000 v2, though both have an emergency fast-charge mode, switched on in the app, that brings the 1000 v2 down to about an hour and the 2000 v2 to about 1.3 hours.

Why that matters: if a storm is forecast and your unit is at 30 percent, you can top up an EcoFlow in the gap between the warning and the outage. In a long outage with a generator, faster charging also means less generator run time per refill. For camping or occasional use, where the unit sits on a charger overnight, the difference is close to irrelevant.

Solar input is the bigger practical gap. At 1 kWh, EcoFlow accepts 1000W of solar across two inputs against 400W on the Explorer 1000 v2. At 2 kWh, the DELTA 3 Max Plus takes 1000W against 800W on the HomePower 2000 Plus v2, and the non-expandable models take 500W and 400W respectively. If you plan to run off solar for days at a time, that ceiling decides how many panels you can usefully connect and how fast a short sunny window refills the battery.

Both brands use their own connectors on their panels but accept standard panels within their voltage windows, which run roughly 11 to 60 volts on the smaller units. Our best portable solar panels guide covers matching panels to these inputs, and if you would rather buy a matched kit, our best solar generator roundup compares the bundles directly. Remember that a panel's rated wattage is a lab figure; in real sun expect roughly 60 to 80 percent of it.

7. UPS Switchover, App and Noise

Both brands sell their units as uninterruptible power supplies, meaning devices stay plugged into the station, the station stays plugged into the wall, and it takes over when the grid drops. The figure to compare is switchover time. EcoFlow lists under 10 ms across the DELTA 3 family and 10 ms on the DELTA Pro 3. Jackery lists under 20 ms on the Explorer 1000 v2 and the Explorer 5000 Plus in backup mode, under 10 ms on the HomePower 1000 Plus v2, and 0 ms in the 5000 Plus's online mode.

Most desktop computers and network gear ride through 20 ms without noticing, but some sensitive equipment, older desktop power supplies and some aquarium or medical controllers can reset on a longer gap. If the reason you are buying is to keep a desktop PC or a home server running through flickers, the faster switchover is worth paying attention to, and the EcoFlow DELTA 3 models or Jackery's newer HomePower v2 units are the safer bets.

Both apps connect over Wi-Fi and Bluetooth and let you monitor input and output, toggle outlets, and set charge limits. EcoFlow's app is the more ambitious of the two, with time-of-use charging and a storm warning mode that charges the unit automatically when severe weather is forecast. Jackery's app is simpler and gates its emergency fast charge mode, which is worth knowing because you need the app to get the advertised charge times.

On noise, both brands now quote very quiet figures under light loads: EcoFlow under 30 dB at up to 600W on the DELTA 3 and 25 dB at 600W on the DELTA 3 Max models, and Jackery 30 dB in its quiet mode. Under heavy load or fast charging, the cooling fans on any of these units become clearly audible, so if it will live in a bedroom, plan to charge it during the day.

8. Who Should Buy Which

Buy EcoFlow if your priority is home backup. Its higher inverter output at every size below the whole-home class, its faster wall charging, its larger solar input and its sub-10 ms UPS switchover all point the same way: it is the better machine for keeping a house running. The DELTA 3 Plus is the sweet spot for most households, and the DELTA 3 Max Plus is the one to choose if you need to start a well pump or run a window air conditioner alongside a fridge.

Buy Jackery if you value low weight and simplicity, particularly for camping, RV use or a first power station that someone else in the household also needs to operate. The Explorer 1000 v2, which Jackery bills as the smallest and lightest 1 kWh LiFePO4 unit on the market, has the simplest controls here, and the HomePower 2000 Plus v2 makes a 2 kWh expandable system that one person can actually carry. At the very top end, the Explorer 5000 Plus is the pick if you need 7200W of 240V output and do not need to move it.

If you are torn, decide by the one number that matters most to you. Need more than 1500W from a 1 kWh unit? EcoFlow. Need it under 25 pounds? Jackery. Need to refill quickly from the wall before a storm? EcoFlow. Need the most raw 240V output for the money? Jackery's 5000 Plus. Most buyers find one of those questions settles it.

Whichever brand you lean toward, check how the unit compares to the other LiFePO4 options from Bluetti and Anker before you buy. All of them, with our testing notes and the specific use each suits best, are in our portable power station rankings, and if a fridge is the main load you are planning around, our guide to whether a portable power station can run a refrigerator works through the runtimes.

9. Common Mistakes to Avoid

Comparing cycle ratings at face value

Jackery usually rates cycles to 70 percent capacity and EcoFlow to 80 percent, so 4,000 cycles does not mean the same thing on both spec sheets. Compare the end point as well as the number, and remember that most owners never come close to either limit in the life of the unit.

Assuming advertised charge times are automatic

Jackery's fastest wall-charging figures require switching on emergency charging in the app; the standard rate is slower. EcoFlow's quickest times assume optimal conditions too. If fast charging before a storm matters to you, learn how to switch the mode on before you actually need it.

Buying 1500W when you need 1800W

The gap between the Explorer 1000 v2 and DELTA 3 Plus outputs sounds small but decides whether a 1500W heater, microwave or kettle runs comfortably. Add up the wattage of what you will actually plug in, including startup surges, before choosing a unit on weight or price alone.

Forgetting to register for the extended warranty

Both brands advertise five years, but on many models two of those years depend on buying through the right channel or registering in the app. Register the day the unit arrives and keep the receipt, or you may be on three years without knowing it.

Ignoring solar input limits

Connecting more panel wattage than the unit accepts does nothing for charge speed. The Explorer 1000 v2 stops at 400W, the DELTA 3 Plus at 1000W. Size your solar array to the unit's input ceiling and voltage window rather than buying panels first and hoping they fit.

10. Frequently Asked Questions

Is Jackery or EcoFlow better?

For most home backup buyers, EcoFlow, because its current models offer more AC output, faster wall charging, higher solar input and faster UPS switchover at each size up to 2 kWh. Jackery is better if weight and simplicity matter most, and its Explorer 5000 Plus out-powers EcoFlow's DELTA Pro 3 at the whole-home end.

Which is better, Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 or EcoFlow DELTA 3?

The DELTA 3 Plus is the more capable unit, with 1800W of output against 1500W, six AC outlets against three, 1000W of solar input against 400W, and expansion to 5 kWh. The Explorer 1000 v2 is 3.8 pounds lighter and simpler to operate. Choose the EcoFlow for home backup and the Jackery for portability.

Do Jackery and EcoFlow both use LiFePO4 batteries?

Yes, across their current main lineups. Every model in this comparison uses LiFePO4 cells. Older Jackery Explorer models used NMC lithium-ion with much lower cycle ratings, so if you are buying used or on clearance, check the spec sheet for the cell chemistry before assuming the long cycle life applies.

Which charges faster, Jackery or EcoFlow?

EcoFlow, in standard mode. The DELTA 3 Plus refills in 56 minutes from a wall outlet and the DELTA 3 Max models reach 80 percent in about an hour. Jackery's Explorer 1000 v2 takes 1.58 hours normally and about an hour in its app-enabled emergency mode, so the gap narrows once you switch that on.

Can I mix Jackery and EcoFlow batteries or panels?

Expansion batteries are brand and model specific, so you cannot add an EcoFlow battery to a Jackery or vice versa. Solar panels are more flexible: either brand accepts third-party panels within its voltage and wattage limits, sometimes with an adapter cable for the connector. Check the input voltage window before connecting any panel.

Which has the better warranty?

On paper they are close. Jackery lists most current models at three years plus two extra when bought directly or through authorised sellers. EcoFlow lists five years on its current DELTA models, described on several pages as three years plus two on app registration. In both cases, register promptly to secure the full term.

Is the EcoFlow DELTA 2 still worth buying?

If you find one discounted, yes. It has 1024 Wh of LiFePO4 capacity, 1800W of output and expansion, and it remains a capable unit. EcoFlow's US store now steers buyers to the DELTA 3, which adds faster charging and a 4,000-cycle rating, so compare prices before choosing the older model.

The Bottom Line

EcoFlow builds the more capable power stations at most sizes: more output, faster charging, more solar input and quicker UPS switchover. Jackery builds lighter, simpler ones, and at the whole-home end its Explorer 5000 Plus offers more raw 240V output than anything EcoFlow sells in a single box. Both now use long-life LiFePO4 cells and both offer five years of warranty if you register properly.

Pick the size first, then let the one spec that matters most to you decide the brand. Our full rankings, with Bluetti and Anker in the mix, are in the best portable power station guide.

Alex Rivers

About the Author

Alex Rivers, Home Improvement Editor

Alex has spent over a decade working on residential and light commercial property maintenance, and now tests every tool, coating and machine that appears in these guides personally.

Full profile | How we test

See Our Top Power Station Picks